All About Chakra Meditation

A woman doing meditation on a rock

The human body is a miniature embodiment of the cosmos. Whatever happens in the universe is also happening inside the human body at a subtler level. Different traditions across the world, especially the Hindu and the Buddhist, have suggested that it is possible to unlock greater physical, mental, spiritual, and psychological abilities using the chakra meditation.

The invisible life energy, or the “kundalini Urja” of the human body, is present in the form of a coiled serpent at the base of the spine. Also, this ‘Kundalini’ or life energy can be evoked to empower the different chakras in the body.

Origins Of The Chakra Meditation

The first reference of the ‘Kundalini energy’ is found in the Rig Veda dated 1700-1100 BCE. Several other ancient texts such as the Yoga-Kundalini Upanishad with detailed methods of practicing the Chakra Meditation are also present. The word ‘Chakra’ translates to the English word ‘wheel’ which is suggestive of the fact that life energy can be transformed.

Different Chakras And Their Locations

A woman doing Yoga outdoors

There are about 114 Chakras in the human body. Out of them, only 7 are important for awakening the ‘kundalini urja‘.

Starting from the base, the chakras can be named as: ‘Muladhara’ – located at the base of the spine in the coccygeal region, ‘Svadhisthana’ – located at the root of the sexual organ, ‘Manipura’ – located in the navel region, ‘Anahata’ – located in the region surrounding the heart, ‘Vishuddhi’ – located in the throat, ‘Ajna’ – located between the eyebrows ,and ‘Sahasrara’ – located in the crown of the head.

Also, there are about 72,000 Nadis or “vibration channels” in the human body. Out of which, only three are chief Nadis. They are ‘Ida’, ‘Pingla’ and ‘Sushumna’. A Chakra is an energy center formed due to the intersection of the three Nadis. In the simplest sense; Chakra meditation is a tool to attain an ascendancy over the 3 Nadis and the 7 chakras.

How to Practice the Chakra Meditation?

Each of the 7 Chakras has its own ‘root sound’ or ‘beej mantra’ which we meditate on. There are many ways of practicing the Chakra Meditation. The simplest being to sit in ‘Sukhasana’ or ‘Siddhasana’ with the spine straight. Then put ones’ palms in a ‘Gyan mudra’ with the index finger; the thumb in contact and the other three fingers opened wide.

To begin with, you can start from the root chakra ‘Muladhara’ and go on to the crown chakra ‘Sahasrara’. Also, the root sounds for the different chakras are: ‘LAM’ for Muladhara, ‘VAM’ for Svadhisthana, ‘RAM’ for Manipura, ‘YAM’ for Anahata, ‘HUM’ for Vishuddhi, ‘OM’ for Ajna. The Sahasrara chakra is characterized by silence.

By meditating upon these root sounds, you can transcend the life energy through the different chakras and awaken greater consciousness.

A group of people doing meditation

The main purpose of the Chakra Meditation is to create wholeness within yourself. Hence, in this way, you can learn how to acknowledge, integrate, and accept all levels of being and be able to view your mind, body, and soul as one and interwoven.